A good day’s work

Spent an enjoyable day at the print studio on Friday. I’m still scratching around a bit to find a new direction for my work, but I turned up an old sketch and a monoprint, and reworked them as solar plate etchings. I was asked where my imagery comes from. Often it’s a found photo, as in the case of the ‘leopard man’, which was a newspaper photo illustrating an opera review.  I clip this stuff without archiving properly, so can no longer remember what the opera was, I know I’ve had the photo for some years.leopard man etching

 

This next image originated in a random monoprint, possibly meant to be a cat. It was one of those things that you think hasn’t worked, but I kept it and gradually started to appreciate it for what it was, rather than whatever it was meant to be.strange cat etching

The drawings applied to the plates were in india ink and watercolour crayon. The etching process reproduces the textures quite accurately, but adds the richness of etching blacks and some tonal qualities of its own when printed. Coincidentally, the ‘cat’ acquired a more leopardy look in the translation from one medium to the other.

Leave a Reply

